Splitting Hairs

going deeper

On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness


Above is a chart of my daily weight measurements going back to late last year. As this chart shows, my normal weight (indicated by the white trend line) hovers around the upper 170s.

But notice the two dips in the chart — the first shortly before “Mar 12” and the second shortly before “Oct 12”.

These sharp dips, that drop my weight into the lower 170s, correspond to the detox programs I undergo every year in March and September.

These dips in weight also correspond to a drop in my waist circumference from 32 inches to 31.5 inches. Using the navy method of calculating body fat percentage, this half-inch drop corresponds to a 1.1% decline in body fat (from 13.3% to 12.2%).

What is the reason for this decline in body fat during the detoxes? Well, the detox programs require a strict diet devoid of wheat, sugar, and dairy, as well as eliminating a number of other foods that are potential allergens. In addition, the programs (particularly the liver detox) include taking one to three supplement-laden smoothies per day. These smoothies tend to decrease my appetite for other food.

If that’s why my body fat/weight drops during the detoxes, then why do those numbers climb back up afterward? Notice in the chart above the period from March to August of this year. You can see a quick climb of my weight back up to the upper 170s, with some peaks above 180.

The reason why I fatten up between the detoxes is that I cheat from time to time on avoiding wheat, sugar, and dairy. If you think about it, almost all human “comfort food” comprises one or more of those three ingredients.

This food isn’t just comforting for individuals, it serves as social glue. Offering and sharing this “poisonous” food is a core way of offering friendship and love in our culture.

So the act of declining this offer of poisonous food can be misconstrued as a rejection of friendship and love.

Since I know this, I explain this to people. This explanation certainly seems to ameliorate the sharpness of my rejection of this offered food and drink.

But over time, these continual rejections of mine mark me as a social outsider.

So there’s the choice: be a social outsider, or be skinny (and super-healthy).

Given I probably have a touch of autism, this choice is an easy one for me. Heck I sometimes wonder if my skinniness motivation goes beyond mere health and into a desire to set myself apart from the masses. I mean, I’m curious to see what my choices would be if I lived, not in our current culture of fat, sick people, but amongst skinny, healthy ones like me. Would I get fat?

This is a hypothetical question I don’t think I’ll ever have a chance to test in my lifetime. In other words, I hold out no hope for the fat, sick American people.

I was walking with a friend the other day who is about 20 pounds overweight, but who had recently dropped 10-15 pounds. He said he thought he didn’t want to lose any more weight else become “too skinny”.

I’m almost 50. In my earlier days I might have responded: “What?! You’re still a fat bastard. You got a long way to go, and, hate to tell you, but it gets harder from here.”

Decades of learning the hard way has taught me to swallow thoughts like that. In the silence of swallowing that reaction in that particular exchange, I realized that it’s hopeless for Americans. That is, this obesity epidemic that began in the early 1970s ain’t never ending.

Or at least never ending until some calamity reaches our shores, putting food stores in peril, and driving people back to war-time kitchen gardens for their sustenance.

Until then, fat people will think they’re skinny enough, and ain’t nobody but weirdos like me getting off the fat-inducing wheat, sugar and dairy.

Years ago when I started on this path of getting skinny and healthy, I always thought that my example would influence others to do the same.

Today, I’ve given up on that thought. Instead, the only people with whom I discuss my health practices are other skinny people (over 40). My thought is that if you are over 40 and live in America and are skinny (and are not a cancer patient), then you are doing something to be that way.

So I ask such people: “What are you doing to be skinny?” The answers are always interesting.

There’s not many of us skinny people over 40 left in America. We’re a shrinking minority. But damn, our stories are interesting.

Finally: why post this? Two things are going on my life on this topic of skinniness. First, I’ve decided “screw it, I’m just going to stay off wheat, sugar, and dairy, no matter the social cost.”

Second, as I’ve blogged about, I’m learning how to run without messing up my knees.

I mean think about it: Over the past 10 years, through dietary choices alone, with very mild levels of exercise, I dropped my body fat from above 18% to 12%. Now that I’m running again for the first time in over a decade, I expect that, with my diet, my body fat will dip below 10%, and my weight will go below 170.

Today I look skinnier than almost everybody else. A year from now, assuming my legs don’t give out, I’m probably going to look cadaverous to Fat America. My status as a social outcast will only increase.

It’s good to be clear on where I’m headed with my choices so as not to be surprised with the coming reactions. Ergo this blog post.

15 comments on “On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness

  1. drkathygraham
    October 15, 2012

    Bill and I completely understand what it is like to be social outcasts. Well, more specifically, culinary social outcasts. But it works both ways. We are also culinary social ostracizers where we will not waste our money on organic meats, organic produce, gluten-free grains and health sugar substitutes on people who do not and cannot appreciate healthy, quality food, and we refuse to cook with shit food. Yes, we are food snobs to put it mildly.

    However, it does work for us. We play and socialize with the basketball crowd – none of whom we would ever invite over for dinner nor go to their houses for dinner. We go hiking with the hiking crowd – most of whom we would not invite over for dinner nor go to their houses for dinner. We have our neighbourhood water community – and for brunch potlucks, we bring at least 3 dishes so that there are at least 3 different foods for us from which to choose.

    Being a social culinary outcast can indeed work.

    I remember decades ago when Bill and I made the choice for gluten-free, dairy-free and sugar-free cooking, mom, who was your typical loving Greek culinary artist, was quite offended and upset at first, when we said we didn’t want to eat what she had made. Over the years she started cooking to suit our needs, quite enjoyed it, and cooked like that for herself and dad at times in the years that followed. Dad ended up doing no dairy, less sugar, and much less meat after she died. He didn’t change his wheat consumption though.

    Our very best friends are the people whose houses we choose to accept dinner invitations to. In fact, if they don’t know whether we will eat something or not, they will call us beforehand to see if they will make an ingredient substitute or abandon the recipe all together. People that know us the best, know that our food refusal is never a put down to their culinary artistry, but a choice for vibrant health. I suppose being a naturopathic physician in a town where people dub me the “food police” (where the hell do they get that? I don’t care what people shove down their upper orifice), makes it easier for me to say “no”.

    The refusal “no”, in my circle of friends, patients, and even community, is more associated with ideologies of discipline, self-care, and freedom from illness and discomfort.

    Iconoclastic? I think it depends on who your community is, who your close friends are, and the rate at which these people age and degenerate.

    Mom was most proud of two things. Her children were #1. Her food was #2. If an entrenched traditional Greek woman, who revered her own culinary artistry secondarily to her children, could become flexible to a pair of hippie rebels who liked how they felt when they ate well, surely, it won’t be too much of a stretch for your own community.

    Iconoclastic? It will be interesting to follow your journey.

    Like

    • peter
      October 15, 2012

      Your comment should be the blog post. Interesting stuff.

      Your comment revealed to me why this topic has bubbled to the surface of my mind. The examples you discuss are home/socializing situations. For me, those situations are either infrequent or the food selections are varied enough that nobody is a weirdo for picking and choosing among the offerings.

      What’s going on for me since May is that I’m eating out of my home multiple times per week on business functions. Usually these functions involve a small number of people which means we frequently need to come to agreement on what to order.

      As you can imagine, I’m always the outlier in these discussions. “Um, I don’t eat that.” “Go ahead and order that, I’ll eat something else.” “No thanks, I don’t drink that.”

      Sometimes, when I ask the waitress if the ingredients include wheat, I get asked; “Do you have a gluten intolerance?” I mumble a response. But what’s unsaid by me is: “No I don’t. I just choose not to be fat and sick like you folks.”

      I suppose growing up for me means not saying everything that comes through my judgmental head. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • drkathygraham
        October 15, 2012

        Yeah, the business world is a tough one. The only business meals that I have the opportunity to eat at, are the ones at medical conferences where all the meals are a choice of gluten-free, or dairy-free, or meat-free dishes. We always skip dessert unless it’s fresh fruit.

        And you can bet your boots that it is a rarity to see a fat naturopathic physician at these conferences. They do exist, but they are rare.

        So when a naturopathic doctor who lived in the lower mainland, died suddenly at the age of 58 a few weeks ago, I wondered what happened. I will tell you upfront that I don’t know. It could have been an accident or an aneurysm for all I know – things that are not preventable. Or it could have been a coronary, – a disease that is very preventable. When I looked at his most recent picture on his website, he had a double chin and was clearly overweight.

        This particular naturopath who just died, is someone I clearly remember (not because I had ever met him), but because I saw some of his patients when they would relocate to Smithers. These patients said that they were “desensitized” so that they could eat their food intolerances and food allergies like wheat, sugar and dairy, without experiencing symptoms.

        I would tell these same patients that that was not how I rolled. If something was poisonous for their bodies, I was not going to give them something to make it okay just so that they could tolerate the poison.

        I do on occasion, suggest specific enzymes for dairy or gluten intolerant people when they are traveling, since it is much more challenging to eat healthy in this type of situation, but not impossible. Bill and I eat extremely well all the time even when we go traveling.

        Another way of saying: โ€œNo I donโ€™t. I just choose not to be fat and sick like you folks”, is: “No I don’t. I enjoy being skinny and feeling great”.

        Like

    • peter
      October 15, 2012

      ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. royvella
    October 22, 2012

    We are with you, brother… “I just choose not to be sick and fat like you folks”! So true. Enough inflammation.

    That said, this “Paleo” or “Primal” stuff definitely seems to be picking up… lots of content/cookbooks as well as discussions on the topic. Karen’s got a large part of our village in England either partaking or considering it!

    Personally, we love it. As I said today, 10-15 million years of evolution doesn’t accommodate massive dietary changes over only the last 10-15,000 years. It’s difficult for most people to appreciate the scale of an “evolutionary time perspective” but that is what’s needed to deeply appreciate why their diet must go back to what they’re built for.

    Good luck!

    Like

    • peter
      October 22, 2012

      Thanks Roy. Love that the Paleo meme is catching on.

      But like I say, ad nauseam, our own bodies are the best sources of truth we have on the question of our health. And devices like a tape measure (for measuring waist circumference) and a glucometer (for testing the fattening effects of foods) are truth-telling devices.

      Through these devices, each of us can cobble together an optimal diet without reference to grand theories like Paleo, Zone, Atkins, the U.S. Government Food Pyramid, “scientific” (read: corporate-bought) studies, cultural (e.g. the “Mediterranean diet”), etc.

      Now that’s not to say any or all of the above are useless. I say they are all useful starting points. But not ending points.

      The ending points are the devices mentioned above, recorded daily at the same time, plus periodic comprehensive blood tests.

      IMHO, over time, our own data — the form of charts screaming at us — teaches us our own personal truths.

      Like

  3. Matt
    October 24, 2012

    A dialogue with my sister after reading Peter’s article.

    > From: Matt
    > Sent: Monday, October 22, 2012 4:50 PM
    > To: ‘Jill
    > Subject: RE: On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness
    >
    > Thanks. Also, he gets to see me modeling good eating habits even when
    > there are mostly poor eating choices. For instance, for after-game
    > snacks parents will usually have a healthy option, say carrots. So
    > while everyone is chowing on pizza, I will be nibbling on carrots. He
    > is
    noticing.
    >
    >>
    >
    > —–Original Message—–
    > From: Jill
    > Sent: Monday, October 22, 2012 4:25 PM
    > To: ‘Matt
    > Subject: RE: On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness
    >
    > What you do with Nicholas seems like good parenting – because teaching
    > flexibility and discretion are two very important things.
    >
    > The line is hard and moves with children all the time. But like you
    > point out, allowing children to participate in social events normally
    > and then eating a different way at home, with discussion, teaches
    > children to differentiate between “special occasions” and normal
    > healthy eating – something that I think is very much lost in today’s
    > culture where cakes and candy are available everyday as a matter of right.
    >
    > —–Original Message—–
    > From: Matt
    > Sent: Monday, October 22, 2012 1:39 PM
    > To: ‘Jill
    > Subject: RE: On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness
    >
    > Another very good point. The tricky part is where to draw the line. On
    > one side socializing kids with poor eating habits and decisions along
    > with the rest of the social group, and on the other equipping them
    > with the knowledge and habits to make healthy choices for themselves
    > now and for the rest of their life.
    >
    > In social situations, I generally let Nicholas eat whatever he wants.
    > I know that he is observing me and is absorbing healthy eating habits,
    > so at least he is being armed with information about healthy eating.
    > He also enjoys very much when he sees me “cheat.”
    >
    >>
    >
    > —–Original Message—–
    > From: Jill
    > Sent: Monday, October 22, 2012 11:38 AM
    > To: ‘Matt
    > Subject: RE: On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness
    >
    > The other issue that comes up, that isn’t made clear but I know from
    > our conversation, is that children may be unwillingly drawn into the
    > socially isolating behavior of their parents. Under those
    > circumstances, I think the harm of the isolating decision can outweigh
    > the harm of the “poisonous” food when considering the long-term health
    impacts – mental health included.
    >
    > Food has always been a social medium, we are social animals,
    > therefore, there is the possibility that if you screw around with the
    > social impact of the food system, you may also be messing with social
    development of a child.
    >
    > —–Original Message—–
    > From: Matt
    > Sent: Thursday, October 18, 2012 5:21 PM
    > To: ‘Jill
    > Subject: RE: On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness
    >
    > Very good point.
    >
    > Though, it is awkward to not eat or say no to the special pie or cake
    > or whatever that someone prepared for some special occasion like a
    birthday.
    >
    > And you do feel like you are imposing a bit when you see and email
    > with comments like these:
    > Men,
    > Looking forward to seeing everyone on Saturday. The food situation
    > will be
    > this: There are many fine (and not so fine) eateries in the area
    > around my place. Unfortunately, I will not be preparing any vegetarian
    > or otherwise savory delights that we all have become accustomed to.
    > There will be some snacks and beverages, but if anyone has any special
    > needs, please feel free to pick something up and bring it with.
    > I can’t remember who currently carries the crown, but I’m hopeful a
    > new champion will rise from the ashes on Saturday. See you all
    > then,Scott
    >
    > But, it comes with the turf when being a skinny bastard;-)
    >>
    >
    > —–Original Message—–
    > From: Jill
    > Sent: Thursday, October 18, 2012 1:47 PM
    > To: ‘Matt
    > Subject: RE: On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness
    >
    > Oh my.
    >
    > I think attitude contributes to the social isolation far more than the
    diet.
    > One can go a long way eating very little of some things, a lot of
    > others and saying absolutely nothing about it one way or another. It
    isn’t religion.
    >
    > —–Original Message—–
    > From: Matt
    > Sent: Monday, October 15, 2012 9:21 AM
    > To: ‘Jill
    > Subject: FW: On the Social Iconoclasm of Skinniness
    >
    > Interesting post from my healthy friend Peter and a response from his
    > nutritionist sister Kathy.

    Like

  4. drkathygraham
    October 25, 2012

    Food does not necessarily play a large role in emotional isolation. Attitude and the approach to food has everything to do with emotional isolation.

    As a doctor, I see a range of children. I see those who become quite sick with junk foods (and I’m not even speaking of anaphylactic reactions), and these same kids find ways of socializing with their non-healthy eating peers AND sticking to a healthy diet. I see kids who just can’t maintain a healthy diet because the peer pressure is too great. And I see kids who are stellar at maintaining a healthy diet, and the parents cannot keep up to the kids, the latter having unhealthy diets themselves.

    Some kids can tolerate some junk. Other kids can tolerate lots of junk (but the decades to follow will tell the real story for these particular kids). And then there are kids that cannot tolerate any junk at all.

    One size does not fit all when it comes to food and the way each person socializes and interacts with regards to food. Food is not the only social medium. Sports, politics, academia, are just a few other ways people can connect with each other. The only difference, is that in the years to come, those who are eating healthy will probably have less disease and symptoms than those who do not.

    Choice is almighty. Education and knowledge run a close second.

    Like

  5. Kathy Claytor
    January 14, 2013

    First I’ll say that I think a paleo way of eating is probably healthiest, but I want to also share our food story which goes a bit of a different way. It started with my daughter getting diagnosed with this long list of allergens. Eating premade food became impossible for us. Almost every premade food had something in it that she was allergic to. So out of necessity, I had to start cooking all our food from scratch. Wheat was on the list of allergens, so initially we did go gluten free, but we never gave up dairy or sugar. Just eating all from scratch cooking with no wheat made me lose 18 pounds even though I made us plenty of treats. Before the switch in eating I would get winded easily and I tended to have swollen ankles and poofy eyes. That all went away with the change in eating. Additionally my kids problems of autism and ADD improved greatly and my husbands gout also improved greatly. In the years following that my daughters allergies went away, and we started eating all the different foods again, but still all homemade. We never wanted to add all those fake additives back into our diet. Adding all the foods back in went uneventfully except wheat. After not having gained any weight for years on other foods, wheat made me gain 5 pound in a day, and I had swollen ankles and eyes again.

    During the whole learning to cook everything from scratch I was also concurrently reading a lot of very scientific things about autism and obesity. I kept running into information about glutamate and overactive glutamate pathways in both conditions. And I saw information about how the same supplement taurine which happens to work on opposite receptors as glutamate could be helpful in both conditions. Processed food is just loaded with added glutamate. Even wheat flour usually has malted barley added which increases the glutamate content, and wheat itself is high in glutamate. Additionally rats given MSG had higher histamine responses, and rats given taurine had lower histamine responses, which would also link too much glutamate to increased allergy response. It looked like all our conditions were somewhat related with either too much glutamate in our diet depleting the things we needed to convert the glutamate to other things, or overactive glutamate pathways. Either way, I started giving us taurine for awhile too just to help us recover from having ingested so much glutamate for so long.

    With that in mind, I started making bread with unbleached pastry flour because it has no malted barley and it is lower in glutamate than typical flour. I found I gained no weight eating things made out of the pastry flour.

    Everyone in my family except me is thin now. I started fat though, but I do not gain anymore. The loss is really small though. Perhaps I will be thin in 10 years just doing my current lifestyle, or perhaps I will buckle down and force myself to lose the weight quicker, but at least I stopped the gain this way.

    So, to sum up, I actually think more than specific foods being bad I think it is what they are adding to the food that is really bad.

    Like

    • peter
      January 14, 2013

      Thanks for the stories. They reveal how tough it is to find out just what is messing us up.

      One thing I’m noticing though is not only that each us is fairly unique in what we can tolerate and how much of it we can, but that the young/old divide is extreme.

      If I ate what my 7-year-old daughter eats, I’d be 30 pounds heavier in a matter of months. But she’s so skinny we sometimes worry about that

      Today, I weigh what I did as a senior in high school. My body fat is low. Around 11%. To everyone around me, I’m very skinny. Too skinny to some.

      But at 50 (next month), the responses of my body to food are night and day different from when I was young. Put simply, at 17, I couldn’t gain weight. Sure, I was exercising tremendously at the time, on the way to becoming an elite athlete.

      But I would eat up to two pizzas at a time, or boxes of Captain Crunch at a sitting, or a dozen donuts on the car ride home. Couldn’t gain a pound.

      Today, I’m exactly opposite. My body wants to be fat. If I go off my eating regimen just a hair, just a teeny lit bit, my body will put 1/2 inch on my waist, and add 7 pounds on my scale, the next morning.

      It’s amazing. I’m going to blog about it when I have time.

      The key I found for gaining some control over it is data. Keeping daily data.

      p.s. For older people losing fat (i.e. like me), I’ve read we need special things like, e.g., ogbono (an African nut). That nut supposedly frees up the fat burning hormone in us to work again. It’s not by far the only thing in this game. But the idea is that moderate exercise and moderate diet changes ain’t going to do it for us older folks.

      Like

      • Kathy Claytor
        January 16, 2013

        I have heard many people talk about how it was easier to be thin before 30, but that wasn’t the case for me. I was a fat kid before fat kids were common. I was very physically active too. I think it is just that I was starved in the womb due to a umbilical chord defect so my body got programmed to hang onto weight easily. I have read many studies showing that this happens to infants born during famine.I starved myself through highschool and early twenties to be a reasonable weight, but I could only do that by being very independent of other people. Once married it became impossible to avoid the food I had to keep around for my family. I thought it was better for my weight to avoid food as much as possible, so I mostly bought premade food to avoid having as much contact with food. But, I had been wrong. It has turned out to be much better for my weight to have much contact with the preparation of food.

        Like

    • peter
      January 16, 2013

      Very interesting. Looks like in your youth, you went through what all of us post-40 people are going through now: i.e. a body that wants to be fat.

      I wonder if that prepared you better or worse for aging. I mean, for people like me, it takes our 40s to figure out that our bodies have flipped and don’t work at all like they did when we were kids.

      Often, I hear a 40-something say “Well, when I was 23, I tried this and it worked”.

      I say: “You were a different species at 23. What worked then for you won’t necessarily work for you now.”

      But since you were already challenged in youth, maybe you have the mental/emotional “toolset” to tackle it.

      Like

  6. Kathy Claytor
    January 14, 2013

    I will say that having to cook all our food from scratch has put a dent in our social life, but I don’t care. I’m never going back to the old way of eating that made me gain weight so easily all the time and be so hungry all the time. Oh, I forgot to say that my family and I all notice that when we do cheat and eat premade foods because we are travelling we all notice how much less the food fills us up than my home cooked food.

    Like

    • peter
      January 14, 2013

      Very cool that you’re doing it as a family.

      In some ways, I think that kids with food allergies are the lucky ones because they learn that some food is very bad for them. That meme serves them well in a country in which almost all the food in the middle isles of the grocery store and just about all restaurant food is virtually poison.

      This is not the case in older countries like Greece. Restaurant food there is what we call the “Mediterranean Diet”.

      In our family, I’ve been on this road for a few years. This year my wife started on it. It’s exciting for me because now I don’t just eat like a goat (i.e. raw plants, fruits, and nuts). Now, I eat a like goat who gets to try healthy epicure foods now and then. And my data likes it too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2012 by in health.

Categories

Archives

Follow Splitting Hairs on WordPress.com